Young Jazz Musicians of the Years!

We were just having a natter with colleagues about the Worshipful Company of Musicians’ prize for Young Jazz Musician of the Year and it occurred to us that five of the last seven winners are sparkling alumni of the Tomorrow’s Warriors Development Programme.

But it’s not about us! These Awards are a celebration and recognition of the terrific creativity and commitment to music that these amazingly talented young people possess. It’s acknowledgement of their hard work and sheer determination to pursue what can be a tough and challenging career as a professional jazz musician.Moses Boyd by Benjamin Amure

In September, our alumnus Moses Boyd was named by the Worshipful Company of Musicians as their Young Jazz Musician of the Year 2014, following in the footsteps of four fellow alumni. What a pedigree!

2008 Zem Audu
2009 Shane Forbes
2010 Nathaniel Facey
2012 Laura Jurd
2014 Moses Boyd

Naturally, we’re incredibly proud of ALL our alumni but this year, it’s about the wonderful Moses Boyd! We’re thrilled to bits that his talent has been recognised and publicly acknowledged . Share the joy and congratulate Moses!

Photo credit: © 2012 Benjamin Amure.

Leave a Reply