Gary Crosby and Janine Irons - Parliamentary Awards 2017
Artistic Director, Gary Crosby OBE and Managing Director, Janine Irons MBE collect the Parliamentary Jazz Award for Jazz Education 2017 (10 October 2017)

Drum roll please…and the winner of the 2017 Parliamentary Award for Jazz Education is…Tomorrow’s Warriors! YAYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!

You cannot believe our delight and surprise when we heard our name called as the winner of the education award at this year’s Parliamentary Jazz Awards! This is a huge achievement and what a fantastic endorsement of the entire Tomorrow’s Warriors team – both in the office and our incredible music leader faculty! Congratulations and thank you for all the hard work you put in to keep Tomorrow’s Warriors leading and innovating in field of jazz education.

And to top things off beautifully, our brilliant alumni picked up two of the four awards for which they were nominated:

Nerija - Parliamentary Awards 2017
Jazzwise Editor, Jon Newey (r) presented Tomorrow’s Warriors alumni, Nérija with the Parliamentary Award for Jazz Newcomer 2017

picked up the Parliamentary Award for Jazz Newcomer 2017! And the simply awesome Shabaka Hutchings picked up the award for Jazz Instrumentalist 2017!

Massive congratulations one and all! BIG UP! And well done to all of our friends and colleagues who were shortlisted for a ‘Parlie’! Also BIG, BIG THANKS to our favourite people on the planet, the team at Jazz Re:freshed (see below) who were shortlisted for Best Venue, and do so much to give Tomorrow’s Warriors’ alumni a live platform on which to showcase their brilliance!

The 2017 Parliamentary Jazz Awards were held on 10 October at the new PizzaExpress Live venue in Holborn. The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG). According to the official press release, the awards are considered Britain’s premier ceremony for the UK jazz community and featured:

“a broad array of jazz talent from within the industry, the awards are sponsored by Peroni with the support of PizzaExpress Live. During the ceremony, award presenters comprised of British politician’s and home-grown UK jazz talent including  Jon Newy, Editor of Jazzwise,Gary Crosby, Zara McFarlane, Kelvin Hopkins MP., Lord Anthony Colwyn, Sarah Champion MP, Andrea Vicari and Deirdre Cartwright. Compére for the evening was Ross Dines of PizzaExpress Live,  “This has been a really strong year for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards in terms of talent and nominations. The well deserved recipients are a veritable who’s who of names that have made a real impact on the music and helped make the UK one of the world’s leading jazz territories”.”

BIG THANKS to all those who voted for Tomorrow’s Warriors and our alumni in these awards! We couldn’t have got here without you! xxx

Janine Irons with Jazz Refreshed crew
Our CEO, Janine Irons (left) with the Jazz Re:Freshed team (Yvette Griffith, Justin McKenzie, Adam Moses) at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards


Gary Crosby with members of Nerija at Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2017
Gary Crosby with Tomorrow’s Warriors members of Nérija, winners of the Parliamentary Jazz Award for Jazz Newcomer 2017

Leave a Reply